The 5th edition of Wisława Szymborska Award – nominees | Miłosz Festival

The 5th edition of Wisława Szymborska Award – nominees

At today’s press conference (26 April 2017), the Wisława Szymborska Foundation revealed the nominees for the 5th edition of the Wisława Szymborska Award.

The Jury consisting of: Andrei Khadanowich (Belarus), Bernhard Hartmann (Germany), Professor William Martin (US), Abel Murcia Soriano (Spain), Professor Marian Stala and Dorota Walczak-Delanois (Belgium), chaired by Joanna Orska, nominated the following short-list of candidates for the award:

Tomasz Bąk for his volume [beep] generation (published by Wojewódzka Biblioteka Publiczna and Centrum Animacji Kultury), Jerzy Kronhold for his volume Skok w dal (Wydawnictwo Literackie), Tomasz Różycki for his volume Litery (wydawnictwo a5), Marcin Sendecki for his volume W (Biuro Literackie), Eugeniusz Tkaczyszyn-Dycki for his volume Nie dam ci siebie w żadnej postaci (wydawnictwo Lokator).

This year the Jury decided not to grant an award to any poet from abroad for translation of a volume into Polish. More than 200 books were submitted as candidates for the Polish award, but only 13 for the international award.. The discrepancy was so huge that the Jury decided not to grant the International Award in 2017; in 2018 the Jury regulations will be amended to accept more submissions.

The name of the award winner who will receive PLN 100 000 and the statuette designed by Teren Prywatny studio, will be announced at the Gala to be held in Krakow on 10 July 2017 during the Miłosz Festival.

source: Wisława Szymborska Foundation

źródło: Fundacja im. Wisławy Szymborskiej

The organizers:


Enter the search phrase: